
OK so it's been a awful long time since I've posted anything on here. Since JANUARY!!!! Sheesh!
So here's an update on what's happened in my life since then. Are you ready???
January was an interesting month! I packed up and went north for a long week end to see my oldest daughter and her husband. We had a great time planning her baby shower!!! My first grandson was due to be born on April 13th!!!! WOOHOO!!! How freakin' exciting is THAT?!?!?!
February brought another trip to the Great White North just in time to attend the baby shower. That was a pretty interesting day, I wasn't sure how I was going to get along considering I had very little "back up" during the shower, only a couple allies were there... my daughter Dayle, my best friend Kathy, Michaela... the rest of the people who were there were from the "other side" of her family. Talk about TENSE!!!! PHEW!!!!
March was an exciting month! Especially the end of it! I suppose I should mention that my whole world revolves around the financial quarters of the year. So every March, June, September and December I am not allowed to have a life of my own. I belong to EMC for that time! LOL Good thing I still love my job!!!!
Well, Shawna called and said "Mom.... the Dr is going to break my water and induce labor on March 31st". Oh My Freakin' Gosh!!! Was he serious!?!?!?!?!? She can't go into labor on the LAST DAY OF THE QUARTER when I'm 3000 miles away and have no hope in Hades of being there!!!! But sure enough, that very day, the 31st, he did exactly that and here I was so far far away and agonizing over the fact that I would NOT be there to welcome my first grandson into the world!
The quarter ended at 9pm PST and by 9:40pm, my butt was on a plane headed to Detroit! I landed at Detroit Metro Airport around 4:45 in the morning and just about bowled everyone in the airport over trying to get to the car rental agency as fast as my chubby little legs would carry me! I managed to get to the car in one piece and took off for Canada.
It's a 3 hour drive (and one border crossing) from Detroit Metro to St. Joe's hospital in London ON and I managed to get there without getting a speeding ticket, without crashing the car, without any incidents at all. And when I got to the hospital, my grandbaby wasn't born yet. He waited for me!!!!! I knew he loved his Nana already!!!!!
After 30 hours of labor, Jaycee William Moxon made his grand entrance into this world! And to top things off, he was born on his Mama's 24th birthday!!! Now they are BOTH April Fool's babies! How cool is THAT! And I was RIGHT THERE when he arrived! WOOHOO!!!!!
I got to spend a couple weeks with Shawna, Justin and Jaycee when he came home from the hospital. I have a terrific boss who allowed me to work from Canada that whole time. I"m very grateful for that opportunity!
So that was April. In May, we had an "incident" in our apartment complex. Someone had the snot beat out of him with a baseball bat at 6:15 in the morning on a week day. Both parties live in our complex and the "incident" happened 150 feet from my patio where I happened to be having my morning coffee and cigarette. This much is fact. Here's what we can't get a straight answer for. It all depends on who you ask, so I'll tell you both sides and let you decide for yourself what happened.
The man who DID the beating was related to a woman who lived with the man who GOT the beating. This is according to the Leasing Office Manager. The man who DID the beating was NOT related to the man who GOT the beating. There was no woman involved. This is according to the police. It was a domestic dispute according to the newspapers. The man who GOT the beating was rushed to the hospital. OK, that part is true. The man who GOT the beating either died or was sent home. I'm not sure which is true. The man who DID the beating either ran away or was immediately hauled off to jail. Again, I'm not sure which is true. It was either a random act of violence (according to the police and the newspapers) or it was a domestic dispute. You pick.
So! After that lovely "incident", we called a mortgage broker. Then we called a realtor. By the following Saturday, I had looked at over 50 houses online and narrowed the list down to about 15. After meeting with the realtor, we weeded out the short sales and foreclosures and were left with a list of 10. So off we went to look at houses!
It was the 6th house we fell in love with and, to tell you the truth, it wasn't originally one of our favorites! It was a house that was similar to the three we considered favorites. But as soon as I got out of the car and started walking up the driveway, I felt like I'd lived there for a long time. I felt like I was coming home. Later that week, we put in an offer and the bank that owned it immediately rejected our offer. OK, we low-balled the offer and were expecting them to reject it. They proposed a counter-offer that was half-way between what they were asking and what we offered but included half of the concessions we were asking for. We met their offer but insisted on ALL of the concessions. Still with me here? LOL Well, after a 2 week wait, ours was still the one and only offer they had received so they accepted.
I love this house! Its big, roomy and has a wonderful yard! I can just picture all of us living there... WITH A DOG! YAY!!!! Well, today we got some not-so-great news. Everything was going along just fine until today. the appraisal came back on the house today $15,000 UNDER what we agreed on with the seller. That means that the bank won't give us a loan for the full amount.
I'm SO disappointed!!!! Our realtor sent the appraisal to the seller's realtor right away. The seller's realtor says that she's going to send the bank (that's who owns the house, a stinkin' bank in NY) the appraisal and see if they will accept the amount that the house appraised for. I don't know what we're going to do if they don't. I love this house!
Well, more to follow, I suppose. Dayle and I leave for vacation in 16 days. Anything can happen between now and then!
TTFN, and Happy Canada Day!!
Joanne
PS - I'll post some pictures of Jaycee in a minute. He's so CUTE!!!!.

No comments:
Post a Comment